Posted in Family History, Jackson, Pyatt, Stephens, Stewart, Wilson

DNA Results…Any surprises?!?!

a77ddb34-727b-4a8e-9754-7718ae734203

Finally bit the bullet and had my DNA analysis done through Ancestry.com.  Two things I found interesting…one, that there is no Native American blood, as was often mentioned on my father’s side.  And two, I wasn’t expecting that much Irish in me!  But with a married name of O’Neill – I guess that’s a good thing.  Have over 600 possible matches from others in the database, ranging from 4th cousins and closer. Closest being 2nd cousin.  I have already connected with a 2nd cousin 1 x removed from my Grandpa Pyatt’s brother’s family!  Will take some time to sort through them.  My hopes with submitting my DNA is to see if I can break thru a brick wall with my 2nd great-grandfather, Needham Stephens, on my mother’s side.  Will keep you up to date on any findings!

Stay tuned for a post on my husband’s results!

 

15117_wpm_lowreskathisign

Leave a Reply

