Posted in Family History, Stephens

Surname Saturday – Stephens

Needham Stephens was my 2nd great grandfather on my Mom’s side.  He has been my brick wall for a very long time!  I remember hearing my grandmother talk about him and how he died in the Civil War.  According to my grandmother, when his wife went to get his pension, she was asked how to spell the name Stephens.  She did not know how to read or write so she picked the biblical spelling of Stephens.  I have often wondered if this might be the reason for my brick wall…but I have tried other spelling as well!  Any help would be appreciated…below is the information I currently have on him.

Needham Stephens was born in 1812 in North Carolina, USA. He died in 1869 in Batesville, Independence, Arkansas, USA. When he was 40, He married Margaret I. Jones,daughter of William E Jones and Altha Leoner, on 11 Apr 1852 in Lafayette, Arkansas, USA.

He lived in Carouse, Hempstead, Arkansas in 1860.

Needham Stephens and Margaret I. Jones had the following children:

  • Elizabeth Hawkins Stephens was born on 08 Nov 1854 in Alabama Township,  Arkansas, USA. She died on 13 Feb 1944 in Rocky Mound, Arkansas, USA. She married William L Browning on 08 Nov 1878.
  • James Owens Stephens was born on 01 Sep 1856 in Alabama Township, Arkansas, USA.
  • William Thomas Stephens was born on 13 Nov 1861. He died on 27 Feb 1933. He married Mary Ellen Piercy on 24 Nov 1889 in Nevada, Arkansas, USA.
  • Nancy.
Leave a Reply

