Posted in Family History, Fuller, Pyatt

Wedding Wednesday – Fuller/Pyatt

The Coffeyville Daily Journal, Wednesday Evening, November 24, 1920

“Miss Ruth Fuller, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. W. W. Fuller of Coffeyville, formerly living north of Chetopa where the bride was at times our Pleasant Valley correspondent, was united in marriage to Mr. Charles Pyatt, formerly one of the well and favorably known young men of this community.  While we have no particulars, we understand the groom has been employed in Texas and that they will make their home there.  The bride is a very attractive young woman, a graduate of our city schools, and popular with all.  The groom is a young man of good character and habits.  The Clipper, with their hosts of friends, joins in extending felicitations.

This is a transcript of the wedding announcement for my paternal grandparents.  Ruth Frankie Fuller was born in 1900 in Omaha, Nebraska.  She moved to Labette County, Kansas somewhere between 1910 and 1915.  Charles Alfred Pyatt was born in 1896 in Springfield, Missouri.  He moved to Labette County, Kansas prior to 1910.  They were married in Coffeyville and as the announcement states, they moved to Texas.  Unfortunately the marriage did not last.  They had one son (my father) and were divorced in 1935.

Newly-weds 

This is one of the few pictures of my grandparents together. Sadly, my grandmother destroyed most of the pictures of the two of them together after the divorce.

2 thoughts on “Wedding Wednesday – Fuller/Pyatt

  1. Fabulous wedding announcement! My grandparents were married in 1921 and their marriage never really got off the ground. Their divorce happened in the early 1930s. A divorce in those days was interesting enough to become part of the family lore. In the years following, my grandmother kept many photos (whereas yours didn’t) but she wrote odd comments on the backs.

    Even more interesting was an illegitimate birth. My sister only recently solved the mystery of our great-grandfather’s identity (on the other side of the family), thanks to the internet. We don’t have DNA proof, but the circumstantial evidence is satisfying enough.

    I’ve been getting into the blogging world over recent months, but only in my last post did I decide to start blogging about family history. So, thank you for the useful leads which I didn’t know about.

    1. Thanks for stopping by! My understanding is that my grandparents separated long before they divorced. Only when my grandmother met someone new did she go forward with the divorce. She remained married to her second husband the rest of her life. Whereas my grandfather remarried several times until he found “true love”. I do so love a good family mystery! I have a couple in my family tree that I plan to blog on as time goes on…

Leave a Reply

