Posted in Advent Calendar - Genealogy

Advent Calendar Memories – Christmas Cards

Did your family send cards? Did your family display the ones they received? Do you still send Christmas cards? Do you have any cards from your ancestors?

I believe my parents sent Christmas cards each year.  Although I don’t have any particular memories about them.  I do remember how my mom would try to come up with ways of displaying the cards we received.  Hanging from a string across the wall.  Taped to ribbon down the wall.  Tucked into the slats of wooden shutters.  A wide variety of display options!

My family sends Christmas cards each year.  This is getting harder to do with all the new electronic ways of sending cards.  It is nice, though, to get a card from someone you haven’t seen or talked to for a while.  That’s why I send actual cards to our family and friends.

One of the things I have done is save the cards my son has received from his grandparents.  One day I think he will enjoy seeing them and having something each year to remember them by.

84C0CEDCC79BBD25603E3BCE608D6185

2 thoughts on “Advent Calendar Memories – Christmas Cards

  1. I know what you mean Colleen…one time of year you look forward to getting the mail! We have a friend that sends her Christmas cards in November (I don’t know how she does it) and we have always gotten it on the day after Thanksgiving. She is always the first card we get…

    Thanks for stopping by…

Leave a Reply

